Accueil > Non classé > Wanted : linux book

Wanted : linux book

In France, we say never two without three. And despite all the speech about « Alsaceness’, I feel like having to abide to the popular saying : I’ve been trying to find a « good » book on linux without much success.

Well, for sure, this time the task is hard… My requirements are quite shallow : getting a better understanding of its inner working/commons tools/server side tools. Well, kind of. The overall idea is to become more than the casual ubuntu user I’m. Easy, clearly, but I’m looking for a good book. You know, the enlightening, empowering and easy to grasp thingy. And I muss confess I really love books worth being read more than once (and not because the first read was not enough to grasp anything).

BTW, my references on the matter might well be « Effective Java ». Or « Don’t make me think ». More on it later 😉

++

Étiquettes : , ,
  1. sure
    juillet 27, 2009 à 7:27

    Check this out http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/ (LFS & BLFS)

    • Joseph Pachod
      juillet 28, 2009 à 9:19

      thanks 🙂

      I’m not sure it’s the easiest book to read on a train, but at least it starts from the very first byte of linux ! The book looks quite heavy on « run this command then run this one », is it still easily readable ?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Laisser un commentaire

