Accueil > professional > Book: The Pragmatic Programmer: From Journeyman to Master

Book: The Pragmatic Programmer: From Journeyman to Master

[Cet article est également disponible en Français.]

In the past, I’ve read books like My Job Went to India: 52 Ways to Save Your Job or Practices of an Agile Developer and, well, I prefered not to speak about them.

With The Pragmatic Programmer: From Journeyman to Master, it’s different. It focuses itself on how to improve programming skills and, for that, provides mostly good advices. If you feel you aren’t doing good enough and don’t really know where to go/ask for advices, this book could help. Still, good technical books like Effective Java would have my preference, but on a more general level The Pragmatic Programmer would still help.

Yet, I don’t agree with all which is said in the book. I’m no emacs expert and I don’t intend to be. Code generation has drawbacks as well.

Still, it’s an overall easy to read and interesting book.

However, since, stuff like the « 97 Things Every Programmer Should Know » wiki page have popped up and may provide just as much.

And in the end, the more I think of it the more a proper tutor looks like the way to go. You can’t become a master just by reading books, and most probably neither by trying it all alone. Thanks god we have the web and good programmers around (if one is daring enough to go and work with them!).

++
joseph

side note: on my way to find again this « 97 tips » page, I got into this one as well: 97 Things Every Software Architect Should Know. And I really liked this one: Simplicity before generality, use before reuse. Something to work on I fear !

Étiquettes : , , , ,
  1. Aucun commentaire pour l’instant.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Laisser un commentaire

