Accueil > professional > Book Review : Implementing Domain-Driven Design

Book Review : Implementing Domain-Driven Design

I had a bit of free time recently (I guess finishing the 15 books of Games of thrones I was given did help as well lol), so I could tackle some books resting on my shelves. Among them, Implementing Domain-Driven Design, by Vaughn Vernon.

Well, first of all, contrary to Mobile First Bootstrap (cf previous review), Implementing Domain-Driven Design is a massive kind of book: about 600 pages. With plenty of code samples. And actually, that’s were, IMHO, the book is a pain: it goes too much into details. I don’t care too much of Spring xml config. Or some coherence API details. Or some REST based communications between parts of the same application (heck, is it really a good idea anyway ?). My mind is set more on akka, and turns out Vaugh Vernon just as well.

The level of details and the lengthy code samples really killed my attention times and times again. It’s a pity. A first the book starts well, Vaugh Vernon does a great job highlighting the usual pitfalls of non Domain Driven Design. It really rings a bell quite a few times. But then, the technical details get in the way, especially for opinionated coder like me. Supposedly immutable value objects without final fields always hurts me. The extensive use of static methods as well (I just remind one « disclaimer » saying it was for the sake of concision, and pretty late in the book).

That’s why, I think, very detailed and framework related code samples are quite a gamble in a « design level book » : if you don’t care too much about the frameworks and some code hurts your eyes, you tend to forget about the design level stuff.

It wasn’t all bad, for sure. It was nice to go through, again, the ideas contained in Domain-Driven Design: Tackling Complexity in the Heart of Software (I wrote a review on it in 2010, here). Some refreshers were really welcomed.

Another aspect which disappointed me was a feeling of a lack of « hands on » feedbacks, of first hands experiences/insight. When reading Uddi Dahan, for example, there were plenty of times where I thought « yes, that’s the issue, he nailed it ». It almost didn’t happen on Implementing Domain-Driven Design. Maybe the burden of detailing Spring and the others chosen stacks killed the « light revealing » feedbacks, the perls of wisdoms which really help one progress. Maybe, as well, I’m biased there: I’ve read a lot on the matter, played with akka persistence, helped Uwe creating his homegrown CQRS framework (still unpublished by the way, isn’t it mate ?). And I’ve plenty of design/implementation related questions in mind which haven’t found their answers yet, but maybe only walking the path would provide them. Yet, nothing about handling eventually consistency in the user interface in the book for example, despite it being quickly an issue, potentially at least, in event driven systems. What if events change over time, how to handle such changes in the event store ?

So, to sum up, if you’re planning to use Spring and some RESTish stuff, the details could be a real enhancement of the book. Otherwise, like me, I fear they risk to wear you off quickly, killing the interest of the book. Furthermore, if you’re a lot into event driven/CQRS and the like, these parts aren’t handled with too much details, more as an overview, which might disappoint as well.

Well, I feel a bit hard. I hope I’m not unfair and that my disappointment doesn’t make me harsh. If you think so, let me know…

Étiquettes : , , ,
  1. Aucun commentaire pour l’instant.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Laisser un commentaire

